Main Logo

YMCA OF
BURLINGTON AND
CAMDEN COUNTIES

Lifeguard Certification & Re-Certification

Learn how to effectively prevent and respond to water emergencies with the American Red Cross lifeguard training.

 

redcross-logoRequired ID

State Photo ID, Passport or Birth Certificate with photo Candidate must be 15 by the last day of the class

Candidates must supply their own Lifeguarding manual and CPR mask with O2 outlet for certification and recertification classes.

To obtain the necessary Red Cross Lifeguarding Manual:

For info on the courses and content, contact:
Kristin Talbot
856.231.9622 x302

Pre-course Session

Physical Competency Tests
Cost: $50

300 yard non stop swim of front crawl and/or breaststroke, a timed 10 lb brick retrieval (which will include swimming 18 yards, a surface dive to the bottom and swimming a distance of 5 ft under water to retrieve the brick, surface with the brick on your back and carry it back with both hands, while swimming on your back) and 2 minutes treading water using only your legs.

 

LIFEGUARD CERTIFICATION

Classroom Only
Cost: $205

This course is designed to provide participants with the knowledge and skills needed to be a lifeguard. CPR for the Professional Rescuer, AED, and First Aid are included in this comprehensive training. Participants must complete prerequisite skills on their first day consisting of: 300 yards Freestyle and Breaststroke as well as diving brick retrieval. This is a 30-hour course.

February

All classes held at the Burlington-Riverfront YMCA

Pre-qualifying Swim
Wed, Feb 22 | 5:00-9:00pm
Register

Full Course
Must attend all classes
Fri, Feb 24 | 4:00-10:00pm
Sat, Feb 25 | noon-6:00pm
Sun, Feb 26 | 9:00am-4:00pm
Fri, Mar 3 | 5:00-8:00pm

March

All classes held at the Burlington-Riverfront YMCA

Pre-qualifying Swim
Fri, Mar 17 | 4:00pm
Register

Full Course
Must attend all classes
Fri, Mar 17 | 4:00-10:00pm
Sat, Mar 18 | Noon-6:00pm
Sun, Mar 19 | 10:00am-4:00pm
Fri, Mar 24 | 4:00-10:00pm
Sat, Mar 25 | Noon-6:00pm

April

All classes held at the Burlington-Riverfront YMCA

Pre-qualifying Swim
Fri, Apr 21 | 4:00pm
Register

Full Course
Must attend all classes
Fri, Apr 21 | 4:00-10:00pm
Sat, Apr 22 | Noon-6:00pm
Sun, Apr 23 | 10:00am-4:00pm
Fri, Apr 28 | 4:00-10:00pm
Sat, Apr 29 | Noon-6:00pm

 

BLENDED LEARNING LIFEGUARD CERTIFICATION

There are no classes scheduled at this time

Online & Classroom
Cost: $170 (plus $35 paid to Red Cross, link to be provided by instructor)

This course is designed to provide participants with the knowledge and skills needed to be a lifeguard, through online training and classroom skills practice. Upon completion, candidates will have a 2 year certification in CPR, AED, First Aid and Lifeguarding. This course is 7½ hours of online training plus 23 hours classroom training.

LIFEGUARD RE-CERTIFICATION

Classroom Only
Cost: $99

Must hold current certifications in Lifeguard/CPR/AED & First Aid that is up for renewal. On the first day of the class, present current certifications and photo I.D. to instructor for verification.

February

Must attend both classes
Sat, Feb 25 | Noon-6:00pm
Sun, Feb 26 | 9:00am-3:00pm
Register

March

Must attend both classes
Sat, Mar 25 | Noon-4:00pm
Sun, Mar 26 | 10:00am-3:00pm
Register

May

Must attend both classes
Sat, May 20 | Noon-4:00pm
Sun, May 21 | 10:00am-3:00pm
Register

CONTACT US

Send this to a friend